Moscow State Symphony Orchestra
Music Director & Chief Conductor Pavel Kogan
back to list
Subscription № 80 «Moscow State Symphony Orchestra under direction of Pavel Kogan»
Great Hall of the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory

How to get
900 - 2400 rubles
2 hours
17 September (Thursday) 2020

The premiere concert of the subscription cycle will present a program composed of the immortal works of Gustav Mahler, the great Austrian conductor and composer of the 19th century. Mahler's conductor talent was enthusiastically noted by many of his contemporaries, while the composer's own compositions for a long time undeservedly remained incomprehensible and unrecognized. At the sunset of musical romanticism, Mahler creates ten grand symphonic canvases in which he tries to give an answer to the eternal questions of existence, to determine the place of man in this world. A special place among them is occupied by the Ninth Symphony, which was destined to become the composer's last fully completed opus. In it, Mahler refers to an image that has become the philosophical leitmotif of all his late work: this is a mournful farewell to life and illusions, a refusal to fight. Composer Alban Berg, shocked by the Ninth he heard, wrote: “This is an expression of unheard of love for the earth, a passionate desire to live on it in the world, and again and again to the deepest depths to enjoy it, nature - until death comes. Because it is irresistibly approaching."

The conductor of the concert is the Music Director and Chief Conductor of the orchestra Pavel Kogan - People’s Artist and Laureate of the State Prize of Russia, whose contribution to art was awarded the most prestigious international awards. Under his direction, an inimitable performing style of the collective was formed, in a diverse repertoire of which the refined depth of interpretation is combined with the virtuosity of the performance.

Font type
Letter spacing – kerning
Text size